College Football Playoff Rankings: 1. Clemson (12-0) 2. Alabama (11-1) 3. Oklahoma (11-1) 4. Iowa (12-0) 5. Michigan State (11-1) 6. Ohio State (11-1) 7. Stanford (10-2) 8. Notre Dame (10-2) 9. Florida State (10-2) 10. North Carolina (11-1) 11. TCU (10-2) 12. Baylor (9-2) 13. Ole Miss (9-3) 14. Northwestern (10-2) 15. Michigan (9-3) 16. Oregon (9-3) 17. Oklahoma State (10-2) 18. Florida (10-2) 19. Houston (11-1) 20. Southern California (8-4) 21. LSU (8-3) 22. Temple (10-2) 23. Navy (9-2) 24. Utah (9-3) 25. Tennessee (8-4)


Saturday, December 8th, 2012


College football set an historic milestone on Saturday night when Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M became the first freshman ever to win the Heisman Trophy.

Manziel was named as the 78th recipient of the Heisman Trophy presented by the Heisman Trust of New York City in an award’s ceremony held at the Best Buy Theater in Times Square.

With the coveted trophy now in hand, Manziel and his Texas A&M teammates turn their sights upon Arlington, Texas, where the Aggies will face No. 11 Oklahoma in the 77th AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic on Friday, January 4, 2013, at Cowboys Stadium.

Johnny Football becomes the eighth Heisman winner to play in the game and the first since the 1999 Classic.

SMU’s legendary halfback Doak Walker was the Classic’s first Heisman winner in 1949. Since the Doaker, some of the greatest names in college football history have carried the Heisman’s national spotlight to North Texas.

Below is a complete look at the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic’s Heisman Trophy winners and Heisman runners-up:

(Outstanding College Football Player)
Presented by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York
1948 Doak Walker SMU vs. Oregon (1949 Classic)
1963 Roger Staubach Navy vs. Texas (1964 Classic)
1977 Earl Campbell Texas vs. Notre Dame (1978 Classic)
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College vs. Houston (1985 Classic)
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn vs. Texas A&M (1986 Classic)
1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame vs. Texas A&M (1988 Classic)
1998 Ricky Williams Texas vs. Mississippi State (1999 Classic)

These winners played in the Cotton Bowl earlier in their career:
1938 Davey O’Brien TCU vs. Marquette (1937 Classic)
1948 Doak Walker SMU vs. Penn State (1948 Classic)
1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse vs. Texas (1960 Classic)
1973 John Cappelletti Penn State vs. Texas (1972 Classic)

1937 Byron “Whizzer” White Colorado vs. Rice (1938 Classic)
1940 John  Kimbrough Texas A&M vs. Fordham (1941 Classic)
1949 Charlie “Choo Choo” Justice North Carolina vs. Rice (1950 Classic)
1955 Jim Swink TCU vs. Mississippi (1956 Classic)
1962 Jerry Stovall LSU vs. Texas (1963 Classic)
1970 Joe Theismann Notre Dame vs. Texas (1971 Classic)
1991 Casey Weldon Florida State vs. Texas A&M (1992 Classic)
2007 Darren McFadden Arkansas vs. Missouri (2008 Classic)